About the Project

7 Steps to Freedom is an interpretive program using cellphones, mobile technology, and the internet to explore and experience African-American history and the Underground Railroad in Salem County, New Jersey. It is a production of the Salem County Cultural & Heritage Commission in partnership with the Foundation for New Jersey Public Broadcasting.

The Actors

Alexandra Ford and Lamont Dixon are the actors heard in the stories.

Alexandra Mays Ford received training at Camden County College and Montclair State University in Voice and Diction, Movement and Acting.  She has appeared in a number of theater productions at both institutions as well as the Spotlighters, Inc., Woodbury Sketch Club, Pig Iron Company and Collaborative Act.  Most recently she portrayed “Oney Judge,” a slave in George Washington’s household, for Historic Philadelphia’s award-winning storytelling program, Once Upon a Nation.  Judge’s story was about how her experiences in Philadelphia transformed her into a forward-thinking, freedom-wanting woman.  Alexandra resides in Runnemede, New Jersey.

Lamont Dixon is a writer, poet, storyteller, and performance and teaching artist. As a teaching artist, Lamont has developed innovative Language Arts education programs: as a performer he collaborates frequently with dancers, visual artists, rappers, other storytellers and vocalists.  He has experience as a first person interpreter, portraying Malcolm X in Fire & Fury: X in Oratory and Langston Hughes in A Walk Down Lennox Avenue.  A New Jersey resident, Lamont has performed widely throughout the tri-state region. He is an instructor at the Perkins Center for the Arts, Playwrights Theater of New jersey, Young Audiences of New jersey, Philadelphia Arts and Education Partnership, and Arts Horizons. 

Production Credits

  • James F. Turk, Project Director
  • Susan Wallner, Project Producer (susan@pckmedia.com)
    PCK Media, LLC
  • Sandra Mackenzie Lloyd, Audio Story Author (sandyml@comcast.net)
  • J. Harlan Buzby, Researcher
  • Juan Carlos Rojas, Web Developer and Designer
  • Nila Aronow, Executive Producer
    Foundation for NJ Public Broadcasting

Academic Advisory Board

  • Clement A. Price, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • Wendel A. White, The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
  • Sandra Mackenzie Lloyd, Historic Philadelphia, Inc.
  • Sheri Jackson, National Park Service Underground Railroad Network to Freedom Program
  • Timothy Hack, Salem Community College
  • Janet Sheridan, independent scholar

Community Advisory Board

  • J. Harlan Buzby
  • Philip Correll
  • Reverend Edward Dorn
  • Elaine Edwards
  • David T. Lindenmuth
  • Donald L. Pierce
  • Ivy Quinton
  • Utausha Rivera

Salem County Board of Chosen Freeholders

  • Julioe A. Acton, Director
  • Dale A. Cross, Deputy Director
  • Bruce L. Bobbitt
  • Benjamin H. Laury
  • Beth E. Timberman
  • Bob Vanderslice
  • Lee Ware

Salem County Cultural & Heritage Commission, Department of Cultural Affairs and Tourism

  • Tom Mason, Chair
  • Tatiana Mulhorn, Vice Chair
  • Annette Devitt, Secretary
  • Harry P. Salmon, Jr., Treasurer
  • Heather Bryceland
  • Christina Cottman Pierangeli
  • Donald Pierce
  • B. Harold Smick, Jr.
  • Nancy Thomas
  • Lee Ware, Freeholder Liaison